Find Out Which Towns Have Applied for a MassDEP Watershed Permit


The Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP) promulgated new regulations amending Title V for new Nitrogen Sensitive Areas (NSAs) in Barnstable County last July. Within those regulations MassDEP created a voluntary watershed permit program for towns across Cape Cod.

Many CCIAOR members wondered if there was a way to track town action on filing a watershed permit. According to MassDEP, any town that files a watershed permit, a notice of intent (NOI) to file a watershed permit, or a “deminimus” load exemption with the agency, will be exempt from the new Title V regulations as that town is considered as taking the steps necessary to reduce nitrogen pollution in their nitrogen sensitive areas (NSA).

The Cape Cod Commission has compiled a preliminary list outlining where all 15 Cape Cod towns are in their permitting process. This list is a current snapshot of the progress towns have made and can be found here. It is important to note that there are two towns that do not have to file for a watershed permit with MassDEP - Provincetown and Eastham - which is why they will appear blank on the list.

CCIAOR’s Government Affairs Director will keep tabs on the list and update the information as it becomes available.